pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

Neighbours ill.......in the head!

2002-10-24
Another cold day here. A long, long, cold grey day. But that's alright, as long as we have heat indoors!

Today an encounter with husband next door at BS#E. I go out to check post, and forgot to be "on alert". I hear the familiar "howdy howdy" from their carport. Geez. Can he not come up with a more originial greeting? Why does this man insist on saying that particularly annoying phrase, everytime? Or can't "Hi" just suffice? Howdy howdy just makes him look like more of a dork. So I can tell he is dying to spill the latest news from over there at the "caves", (as I have affectionately begun to call it, seeing how they just stay in there in their dark cave and never clean)and begins with "how are things over your way?" "Um, fine" I say, keeping my walking aimed straight at the cluster of postboxes. He takes this as an indication, however, that I want to actually hear all about whatever illness is plaguing his wife this week, you know, the very large one who had the nerve to say I looked fat. So he continues as I am trying to hurry and collect whatever post (junk stuff) was shoved in our box marked 9. I hear him saying how she is wrapped in her robe, feet up, can't do a thing or go anywhere for four, yes FOUR whole days. I think secretly, well I'm safe to go outside... from her anyhow, for 4 days. The reason? She had some sort of dye or medication or some such substance injected in her wrist for carpal tunnel syndrome. Ok, and she is off her feet why????? He added, "yeah she can't do a thing, clean, cook, nothing!" Well she doesn't do that anyhow, I evilly think in my mind. Good Lord. You'd think she had major surgery or something. If there is a week where that neighbour doesn't go to the ER or the dr, I tell you, I would simply faint from the shock. Bad thing is, it makes people like myself who really and truly are ill with odd things, look bad. But I tell you, I don't care how sick I might feel some days, I still cannot go to sleep until my house is clean and every bit of laundry is put away. I am not going to let a little bone marrow problem or fibromyalgia get in my way!

:: 5:32 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets