pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

All systems are go

2003-01-10
So it was a little less than a week since I made my last entry. In that length of time I have had surgery, come home from hospital, and am now enjoying the moments of recovery. With interruptions by Clare making me howl with laughter which cannot possibly be great on all those internal stitches. That child has been wound up all day and her humour to boot has not helped, at one point I had to make my mother physically remove her from the room before I fell off of the bed dying of laughter.

After several days of relentless toilet breaks, thanks to about a jillion bags of IV's I was so graciously given prior, during and after the surgery, I think I am nearly back to normal in that department. My appetite is making a comeback and the medications I have been given for pain aren't that horrid either.Moving around slowly, yes, but that is to be expected for quite some time. What is killing me is watching Greg and my mother perform my coveted cleaning rituals around the house. Greg stated last night, "do you really do ALL of this in one day??". I guess my nazi-esque techniques of housecleaning are starting to wear on him!

My mother got a big thrill tonight by feeding a few deer that had wandered onto our porch. We had one deer in particular which religiously visited every evening for about two months. But in early December Aoife put a stop to that by escaping out the back door running the deer off, with Clare and I chasing her before she got lost in the woods(or stabbed with some antlers). So my mother has been spying out the window all evening in hopes they come back and she can offer more apples to the wildlife.

My uncle sent a brilliant get well card today. He is a genius at drawing hilarious things inside of cards in an effort to outdo me on our little inside jokes. Today I prayed as I opened the card it would be normal, any more amount of laughter would certainly do some damage. But I was mistaken, and inside found he had drawn a lovely black cricket preparing to rub it's legs together to sing me a get well song. I guess you had to be there, or be me, to find it as hilarious, but believe me it was and everyone rushed in at my screams of laughter, or what should be laughter. Rather a weird screeching since actual laughing hurts so bad I try to stifle it at the moment. I managed to get him back by drawing an equally offensive and funny picture on a piece of paper which I plan to cut out and glue onto some construction paper in an attempt of a home made card. We'll see if he finds it brilliant when he receives it in a few days.

Actually nothing too odd happened in hospital, everyone was quite nice and accomodating so maybe that will be a good sign of what the upcoming year is to bring. Let's hope so.

I think the pain medication is calling me now. So with that, I am off.

:: 10:01 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets