pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

Dog Shows & Loose Teeth

2003-02-11
You know, the excitement around here has consisted of the Westminster Dog Show at Madison Square Gardens, our one favourite deer coming back to our porch to be fed, and a loose tooth.

Personally I am trying not to watch the latest news on purpose, as it just gives me something else to think about (and worry about) when I cannot sleep at night. And that is pretty scary stuff to be thinking about when you are wide awake in the middle of the night. I just hope nothing else major happens and us being relocated to DC is a safe stay, minus terrorist activity and weirdo snipers hiding out in the backs of cars. You never know...someone else might just snap and re-create the entire saga all over again. But enough of things that could or could not happen. It makes my head hurt to think of it.

Anyhow, we are dog people in this house, and every year I watch the Westminster Dog Show in hopes my favourite breed will be chosen Best of the group or better yet, Best of Show. I was sorely disappointed by the Best Of from each group this time around. The Jack Russell didn't even get picked as 2nd, 3rd or 4th place from the Terrier group. But Mick, the Kerry Blue, did. He got "best of" from the Terriers. And he won Best of Show. I was happy about that, at least an export breed from Ireland was recognised! Plus it was a triple crown winning for him, seeing how he won the world's largest dog show, Crufts, in England in 2000 and took the major AKC/Eukanuba National Invitational Championship in Orlando, Fla., in December. So Mick, go on you good thing!

As for the loose tooth, that happens to belong to Clare. Now this has been a continuing occurrence with the bottom tooth since December. Being her first tooth ready to fall out at any day, she herself is a tiny bit anxious. That's to be expected. What is worse is I, her mother (and most likely the tooth puller-outer) cannot stand to see a loose tooth of any sort, coming from human, canine, etc. When our Jacks lost their milk teeth, I was utterly repulsed by seeing the offending item wiggling back and forth in their gums. Then it hit me a few months back, dear God, I have to endure this with Clare. Something I had completely forgotten. Or put conveniently out of my mind is more likely. I was fine with it till the last week. I have tried to put a brave face on in front of her, squeamish to no end though inside. I am a girl who can see all kinds of trauma....disgusting, gross, weird and foul things most people cannot bear to witness. I can also take any kind of needles, IV's or surgical procedures with a piece of cake. So it is actually humourous that I cannot stand the sight of a loose tooth. What did I do when I lost my first tooth? I let it hang on till it was not even hanging on anymore, then was chased through the house (while screaming like a banshee) by my parents who could take it no more, then once caught, was sat down on the sofa, while they had the pleasure of extracting said tooth which was probably relieved to come out anyhow. I was still screaming even after the tooth was out. Then exclaimed with an unbelievable "Is that it"?? From then on, I became an expert tooth puller. Still disgusted by the sight of a loose tooth, but handling it much better than at age 5. Today I got Clare up on the bathroom counter so I could have a closer look. I tried to be as brave as possible, and she was totally fine mind you, but when I tugged at the very slightest at that tooth, I literally felt the floor coming up to me. I got a bit braver later tonight and tried again, she sat patiently as I picked and prodded at it. But even though she can push it nearly flat, that bloody tooth would not budge for me. So we'll give it a few more days. Maybe it will come out on it's own and spare me the embarrassment of passing out after pulling the tooth for her. We can hope, anyway.

:: 11:15 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets