pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

Saint Valentine's Day

2003-02-15
Happy Heart's day everyone! I hope each of you had a nice time with your significant other, or all alone if that is what you preferred. We spent the day foraging for food, ok actually food shopping in the commissary, which could mean the same thing especially on a day like today: payday. To show my lack of sleep was overpowering my brain, I handed an item to a woman next to me who was scanning the shelf for something, thinking, in fact, I was handing it to Greg. She figured that's what I meant and passed it on down to him....he and Clare had already meandered past me and were on the opposite side of the nice lady. Many times I toss items in mid-air to him to place in the trolley, I am glad on this particular instance, I chose not to. Otherwise the woman would have been hit in the head with a box of au gratin potatoes. Not good.

Anyhow poor old Greg had to work another night shift, so he was off to work at 4pm, which left me home to revel in my spotless house and deal with a very grouchy and very tired Clare.

So that was it. I got Miss Grouchy in bed at 10.30-ish which left me folding laundry and well, messing aorund with my email/website. I should have gone off to slumberland hours ago. I suppose I will give it a go now.

Oh, I filled out a survey from sumi37, and one interesting question (mind you, they were all interesting)was "what song would describe your perfect day?". Which brought to mind immediately "Thinking Voyager Type 2 Things" by one of my favourites....Bob Geldof. I figure I will leave this at that, and you can ponder the song's meaning if you want to. Or not.

..."This is the moment that we come alive, I'm handing out the breath, and the kiss. I'm electric with the snap and crackle of creation. So rise up Brendan Behan, like a drunken Lazarus, Let's traipse the high bronze of the evening sky. Like crazed kings, I'll turn you up. Sail on, sail on, on past the howling storms, through electric orange skies, and blinding methane rain. This is the breath, and this is the kiss. Never bring me down to earth again. Let me blaze a trail of glory across the sky. Let me traipse across it's golden high. Let me marvel in wonder and unfettered gaze, at the bigness and implausability of being. I'm thinking big things...this is the moment that we come alive. This is the breath, and this is the kiss...."


Here we are, taken two weeks ago. Not too shabby for my after-surgery recovery time!

:: 2:16 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets