pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

Humourless People = A Sad World

2003-02-28
Alright, well yesterday, as predicted, was not the greatest day ever had. I thought I was incapable of crying due to my recent surgery. The lack of hormones seemed to prove nothing had been bothering me too badly at all lately. And usually I can be fairly "sensitive" as people have described me. I was doing ok until I decided to take my frustration out on the floors, which meant mopping them to death, then decided I better give a ring to Anna before I indeed did mop a hole in the wood. She too knew Donald, so even though the topic of conversation was pretty much diverted I know that is what was on our minds. It was lovely to chat with her, she is a non-stop tornado of maritime knowledge and definite Museum Goddess. Finished our chat, then back to mopping.

I was then bold and had a beer, albeit not a nice one (Michelob) in honour of Donald's birthday. I learnt way back at age 25 that drink no longer sat well with me. One beer produces a hell of a stomachache after drinking it, usually when I least expect it. Which explains partly why I am up and out of bed at 4.45am. Not that I was sleeping anyhow. But I am backtracking, per usual, a'la typical Ande style.

Greg got home from work and we had plans to go to Old Navy for some exchanges, as I actually bought a pair of track pants after not trying them on the other evening. And I actually believed a size 14 in KIDS would fit. Well SOME things in size 14 kids have fit me before. Like last summer's capri pants. I am of pixie-ish stature as most people like to say, but apparently the hips caused some problems, (thanks for those genes Mum), and to add to it, most average 14 year olds have not given birth to a child so that is all I am saying in my defence of those pants not exactly fitting.

Before we went out to make the embarrassing exchange of too-small track pants, I had to ring my aunt as she had left a message earlier in the day. It did not sound good. Actually she sounded a tad bit irritated, but I had dismissed it as she had rung me from work. So I rang her back at home. To make a long story short, one of her sons, my cousin, threw some massive fit, and had rung her up in a huge fury just because I signed his band's guestbook on their webpage and left a link to a picture of him taken in 1980. He apparently has no sense of humour whatsoever over this matter which is very very sad. The thing is this: he is a drummer in a metal band called AOD. I had joked with my aunt and my other cousin (his brother) about scanning a photo of us helping my Grandmother make those infamous bourbon balls when we were kids. They, too, thought it was a good idea. So I left the link to it on his webpage guestbook where all his "fans" could see a this picture of him. Of course the joke is he has an "image" to uphold, I suppose, being in a death rock heavy metal sort of band, and here is a photo of him wearing this cute little apron, looking all cute, helping Grandma do some Christmas baking. It was a great day, in which we all had a wonderful time together, but apparently he doesn't want to :

1. Laugh at the so called joke

2. Remember a wonderful day we all spent together

3. Laugh at himself considering all the pranks he and his brother used to play on me while we were growing up

So anyhow, he is in a big funk over it, yelling and hyped up, calling everyone (everyone except me) to complain about it, then whinging about the fact he cannot remove my offending entry off his guestbook. Well, my advice to him is, if you're going to be "Mr. Webmaster" of your own site, then you better learn to remove things you don't like people leaving behind. God forbid someone sign it with a comment such as, "your band sucks"! Anyhow, I removed the image to make him happy, so now if any of his die-hard metal fans reads my comment and then tries to access the link to see this horrible offending photo, well, it's gone. However you guys can view it here since I am a nice girl. (Evil laughs emanating from Ande now). So you see, the photo is not a big deal. It COULD have been this. But it's not. So he needs to calm down and maybe, just maybe, when he decides to grow up someday, he will actually see I was just messing and also appreciate the picture of us working away in Grandma's kitchen and relish those memories. Even if he is wearing a flowery apron.

OK, enough on that topic.

So anyway, that whole ordeal, as stupid as it was, got me crying, and moreso once I had spoken to my mother about it. (my uncle had actually talked to her earlier in the day to say how my cousin was ranting and raving and not taking the "joke" well....geez!) I was crying more and more for Donald, I knew, but the exaggerated scenario of me being a bad bad cousin just added to my already falling apart day.

We did get to go out for dinner, yet again. This time I tried the steak just once more, and I must say, the restaurant (Outback) redeemed themselves. My steak was cooked thoroughly, no mooing from the plate, and thank God, no awful pink rare bits. Now that we have had our going-out-to-eat-fix, we'll be eating at home per usual now.

Oh, I did get those track pants exchanged for a more appropriate women's size, so that bit wasn't too terrible.

Now today I can't let any birthday wishes slip by me. Today is one of my dear friend's birthday, Miss Elizabeth Henshaw. She is a big 23 years old today, making me feel even older than I really am. Elizabeth, your parcel is on the way. I promise.

On the other hand, another sad birthday wish (geez, two days in a row). My best friend from high school, Michael Howe...let's see, he would have been 33 today. He died during a terrible surfing accident in Costa Rica back in July of 1993. Ironically, besides my parents, Donald was the first person I told (and cried over it to him about). So Mike, you're in my thoughts today, as always.

Oh, and yesterday was the one year anniversary of our house fire. Let's definitely not dwell on that one though.

Aside from that depressing thought there, it has been snowing all night long. Not much accumulation really, but it is pretty to look at. We haven't had much snow out here in good old Colorado this year, all you guys back East are getting bombarded with the white stuff. But enjoy while you can.....that summer heat will be upon us before we know it.

:: 5:25 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets