pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

you're going to do WHAT to my eye??!

02 July 2003
Today began early as we had to arise, get ourselves ready and head out to Denver for a meeting with my research Immunologist, Dr. Amal. This is the last time I will see him here in Colorado at least, so they had made a request to take vats of blood for some more gene therapy tests.

I was also meant to see the eye folks over at the University of Denver, but I skipped out on that appointment. To make a long (and very confusing) story short, further testing on my retinas were arranged via the local ophthalmologist's suggestion to my other Immunologist in Denver. Apparently the lack of CD4 cell protein means the protein is missing in my eyes as well, which results almost in a tunnel vision effect...or so they found out during some recent visual fields tests. The tests meant to be done today were purely to see how the retina is reacting to light, not to come up with a treatment option or anything to improve the peripheral vision complications. I was all for being the doctor's guinea pig for testing again, until I found out what the tests involved. The tech had spoken to me yesterday and after explaining what actually occurs in an ERG, I was shouting a bit into the phone in disbelief, "oh NO NO NO, I DO NOT think I can sit through that!" (Especially if it is not particularly beneficial in my situation)

He told me they had to place contact-like plastic pieces in my eyeball with electrodes attached whilst a speculum type device holds the eye completely open so you cannot blink for about 15 minutes. Sorry folks, I may wear contacts but this is something completely different and I really don't think I'd be up for that right after having a bag (literally) of blood removed. My Immunologists didn't seem to mind that I refused it, as a matter of fact they had no idea what an ERG test consisted of, so didn't blame me one bit. If my vision begins to deteriorate so horribly to the point I need some sort of treatment, sure I would endure the torture. But until then, they can take all the bone marrow and blood they need from me, I can deal with that aspect of it all. Leave my eyes alone!

Another boiling day here in the Springs. And with no air conditioning it only made things more unbearable. Thankfully we've only one more week to endure here.

As the day progressed I actually felt tired. I suppose considering I have no blood to spare, the removal of quite a bit did affect me. So I kind of drug around the house while Greg did some on-base errands. Clare decided by late afternoon it was time to play in her pool, and I wound up sitting out there with my feet in the water. It helped.

Greg cut the grass and I chatted with our nice new neighbours to the right of us while Clare played with their daughters. Then bathtime and snacktime after which Greg, Clare and dogs fell asleep on the couch, leaving me to the eternal search of B&B's in Virginia on the internet. We still have it narrowed down to four, but I wanted to check the list one more time to ensure I didn't miss a good one.

Oh, the trip to the zoo Monday was a success. All three of us had a brilliant time. Although it was about 94F, there was plenty of shady trees to keep the hot sun off of you. The best part was feeding the giraffes. They are so sweet. Then a dinner at Ruby Tuesdays and home for cake. After which we were completely exhausted. Just as I am now. I suppose I will stop for now before I wind up falling asleep on this keyboard!


Clare and myself feeding the lovely giraffes

:: 11:51 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets