pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

blister packs of tablets, be damned

14 January 2004
Yesterday I awoke on the very wrong foot, since I had a nasty migraine brewing up in the "brainal" area. It was at the point to where the pretty silvery curly-ques were dancing all around my eye, gracing me with their fancy footwork whether I had my eye open or closed. So after getting Clare fed, dressed and dolled up in excessive winter gear for school, I gave Greg the joy of being the one to take her in. I stayed home.

I figured I might as well break into the package of Imitrex tablets. After all, I had things to do and did not want this migraine to continue. Since I was half blinded by those silvery streaks and lines, I had an exceptionally difficult time trying to extract said tablet from it's happy blister pack so that I could actually partake in all it's medicinal glory.

I swear it took about fifteen minutes to open the first tablet. I understand it has to be childproof and all, but think about it. You have a raging headache. You can't see well. Let alone open some adult-proofed package. I am looking at the package now, and there are actually illustrated directions printed on the back with full out text directions too. What a huge help that is. Not only is it impossible to tear the blister at perforations to separate, but peeling the printed backing off to expose foil is damn near impossible. This is what it looked like after fifteen minutes of struggle:


And that is just ONE tablet. I needed two.

Eventually the day got on track and at one o'clock both Greg and myself had appointments with our Primary Care doctor, who, by the way, is a pretty good guy. I went to discuss hormone therapy options since the hysterectomy has left me with odd side effects. Also on the agenda was my arm. You know, the one I broke on the ice in Colorado, thanks to Outback Steakhouse not clearing their sidewalks of the five inches of ice that lay in waiting; ready and willing to make some poor soul fall and break their arm. Hence: me. Anyhow, my arm had never fully recovered and I have about 40% mobility range in it. So I was ordered to have some xrays taken and then we can decide if it will indeed be re-broken, have some pins inserted and scar tissue scraped out, in the happy hopes it will be as good as new. I still think The Outback Steakhouse could at least shower us with a free dinner.

Greg had to be seen for some hip/leg pain he has been experiencing for the past two years. I think it is from all of his obsessive running he used to do, it must have wrecked havoc on his joints. The doctor said it could be a few things, and ordered some xrays for him, too. He has refused to go prior to this since I keep taunting him with the thought of "hip replacement surgery". He hates needles, IV's...anything medically related really. But I forced him to go and regardless of what they decide is the best treatment, he better just get it taken care of.

I, of course, am making it no easier on him. Should he ever need a hip replacement surgery, (I know he doesn't, I just like to torment him) I have been walking around with these huge exaggerated leg movements to show, by example, how he would indeed walk right after such surgery. I am evil to the sixth degree. Or whatever.

Last night child and jack russells were far too full of energy. So I said, at 6.30 pm, "We are going for a walk!!". Even though it was 30F and the wind chill was about -3F, we went. We were bundled up to the nines, but we still walked. Upon returning I figured everyone would be exhausted and ready for bed. But nooooooo. Not this crew. They were lively and wound up for at least another hour or so. So my brilliant plan was futile, to say the least.

the crew all bundled up before our walk in the freezing cold temps (*note the jacks have their doggie jumpers on)


:: 1:00 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets