pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

this is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time...

12 January 2004
I am beginning to think the link I put on my last entry... you know the one involving the absolutely absurd teachings of some Fundamentalist church... must be fake. And if it is, I am surprised I fell for such a scam. Which means that ingenious web site creator is brilliant at pulling the wool over the eyes of those of us who are of the non-Fundamentalist Baptist sect. But then again, I know how over-zealous such people can get and it really wouldn't phase me to see such things written by the likes of them to "help us heathens see the true light".

The biggest thing that caught my eye, which led me to believe noone in their right mind could possibly believe this rubbish, was the 2002 dinosaur expedition, taking place in the deep dark underside of uninhabited Africa. The good pastor, ehm "Dr. Paley", ahem, and his co-horts found the living breathing proof they needed to back up their "Creationalist" theories...a dinosaur. According to them, dinosaurs still roam the land. And this picture "proved" it.

hmm, looks like a blurry elephant's leg....

All I can say is, the entire site seems like a sham.

Oh well, it's good for a laugh.

Changing topics now, I saw the saddest thing on Friday. That morning when we took Clare to school, there was a poor little squirrel in the road that had been run over by a careless driver. That driver had to have been turning into the main entrance to our neighbourhood, which means they had to actually slow down in order to turn, so why did they have to hit the squirrel? In that scenario it could have been avoidable. Anyway, we come back from school and there is another squirrel, probably the deceased squirrel's friend, or parent, or sibling, or aunt or what have you, trying to dodge cars to get to the body. I told Greg that squirrel was going to be the next victim if he/she didn't stay away.

Around 1pm I had to take Greg to work. And by this time a gathering of squirrels had formed on the side of the road, each taking turns scampering out into the road to go "revive" the what appeared to be one very squashed squirrel, at that point. How sad.

When I went to collect Clare from school at approximately 2.45pm that afternoon, just as I had predicted, another squirrel had been hit. And he was being watched by two squirrels on the side of the road. I guess the rest of them wisened up and figured they'd be next, thus deciding they would get far far away from the road.

When Clare and I drove up to the entrance to turn in, what do you know, a third victim lay dead. It was a veritable mass-murdering of squirrels. What aggravated me was the fact the gate is being "guarded" by the military police. Since they have nothing better to do than check ID's, why didn't they at least move the carcasses out of the road?

I noticed by the time Clare and I went out at 9.30pm that evening to collect Greg from work, someone got keen to the fact more and more squirrels were going to become roadkill~ since the "mourners" wouldn't leave well enough alone~ and cleaned up what was left of the furry remains.

For some reason I was just thinking about the film Fight Club. All I can say is: Clever. And I love all things clever. I am sure the majority of you have seen it. If not, I urge you to go do it. Right now...go, scat. You'll never be able to look at a bar of soap again without wanting to quote something from the film.

:: 12:16 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets