pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

just call me museum girl....

12 August 2004
Crazy times indeed this summer. Moving, unpacking, getting school things sorted out, new jobs and the like. Not to mention finding a nice vet for the doggies, coping with financial strain and worrying endlessly about all kinds of hardships which seem to be ever abundant in our lives. I am looking forward to the autumn, accompanying it will hopefully be less stress, worry and some financial freedom. If that's possible.

We found out that the Catholic School won't offer us financial aid since it is doled out in May at the latest, nevermind we only moved here. We are bound to a lease for a townhome that is gorgeous but too expensive, especially after Greg's dad bailed out on the promise of helping us get on our feet and get a month ahead. It seems to be one thing after another, and even with both of us employed soon (more on that further down), things will definitely not be easy street. My mind races circles around itself, trying to constantly sort out how each necessity of day to day living will be covered. Those that know us know we certainly don't live extravagantly. We don't go to the cinema, we don't go out to eat, we certainly don't go shopping. I have decided we will save on expenses by cutting out things like long distance on our phone and cable. That will save us, hmm, perhaps $85 a month. Add that to the Catholic School tuition.

However, we are treating ourselves this weekend and going to see the annual Shakespeare at the Ruins at Barboursville. That used to be one of my most favourite things to do each and every summer ~ pre-Clare days ~ so this time around all three of us will go. They are predicting rain, but hey, we won't melt (besides they do have shelter should such a thing occur).

As for me, well I go back to work the week Clare returns to school. Which is week after next. My title, for lack of better terms: "Girl Who Does All Kinds of Things at Local Historic Building". It is a museum which I have been enamoured with for several years but never really thought of working at. By chance I emailed the Curator last week to see if any openings were available. She said no but to send on my CV. Afterwhich she said she wanted me to come in, which I did yesterday, and they were not going to take no for an answer. Actually neither would I; I truly wanted to work there. So what will Dublingirl be doing, you might ask yourself, at this local historic site? Well all kinds of things. Tours, night programmes, 18th century dancing, research and writing, perhaps the gift shop if I want to venture over there. The most exciting bit, besides being back into the Museum World, is the fact the Curator asked me if perhaps this winter I might work on an African American Slavery themed tour. I am thrilled...this is a topic I am very interested in and have written extensively about in the past for various papers and lectures and whatnot. This will be my "Big Project" for the wintertime. For now, it is time to pull out my 18th century clothes.

So that all seems to pan out our summer fairly well. Full of ups and downs, worries and stress, calm and smooth. Each day seems to be full of one or the other, sometimes all. Hopefully we can stay on even keel, for awhile at least.

:: 3:05 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets