pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

and so it goes

19 October 2004
Today has been absolutely crummy. We went to court this morning about the dog saga and I didn't even get a chance to present anything further in our defense. They had basically made up their mind they were issuing the "dangerous dog decree". So that's what happened. Now there are all these stipulations and rules which must be abided by for anyone having Seamus in their possession, including such rubbish as paying an annual $50 "dangerous dog" license; posting signs on the property stating "beware of the dog"; and muzzling the dog while in public. Honestly. For chasing a cat. A cat most of us believe is not even dead.

That woman is so insane and has made up so much in the course of this that none of us believe a word she says. And I have yet to see any autopsy or proof that there is a dead cat, especially a dead cat my JACK RUSSELL is responsible for killing.

Noone I know would be able to foster Seamus in such conditions, even for a little while, and there is no chance we can bring him back into this house without the eagle-eyed neighbour ratting us out to our own landlord. Ridiculous.

Our only option seems to be to put the poor doggie down, and for that I feel a plethora of guilt. He is perfectly healthy and did nothing wrong. Nothing other than moving within the next ten days would solve this issue, and I doubt we would find a new place within that time period.

I feel like I am sentencing my child to death.

Greg contacted a taxidermist this morning. It would take six months and several hundred dollars. I wonder if he takes payments. I can't bear the thought of putting a pet into the ground, and besides, where would we bury him? Another headache plaguing my mind currently.

After court I went to Sam's Club and came home to attempt some work. I could not concentrate on anything vaguely like 18th century taverns or National Registry so I decided to get out of the house. I found myself at the museum briefly, then I drove around the mountain a bit. I ended up at Blenheim, which is the historic house/farm where Dave Matthew's mother lives (and where he and his brother run a winery). They are doing some renovations to the house so I went to have a peek. I love that property...so quiet and beautiful. Dave himself lives up the road in a historic mill by the river, another beautiful spot. But today I tried to occupy my mind by checking on the renovations.

Anyhow, I lost track of time and got back in town with enough time to collect Clare from school. I kept busy all evening...making a homemade cheesecake (New York style...yum) for a co-worker's birthday tomorrow, and helping Clare with her project on goats. We had a nice dinner, I cleaned up and here I am, my mind right back on what it shouldn't be on. Thinking about Seamus and the decision I must inevitably make.

That, coupled with the oh-so-wonderful news that we actually make "too much money" to qualify for anything more than a measly 30% off any medical visits at the University for the cancer centre/immunology research centre, has my mind going in circles. We make "too much money"? That is such a joke. I was told if we were unemployed or on welfare/utilising social services we would fare better as far as discounts. Well isn't that just useful. As stated before we cannot afford currently the $474 a month EXTRA for any health coverage for me and my pre-existing conditions, so I have to do the financial aid route if I indeed want to continue seeing my doctors. At least till Greg lands this job with the city which would be a huge pay rise and better benefits. But more on that later.

Happy day-late 31st Birthday to Casey. She is feeling about how I am right about now, so we had our own little pity party via phone earlier. I want her to know I was appreciative of her listening and she can also vent to me anytime. But she knows this already!


a happy picture of aoife and reilly the other night, it made me smile when i saw it so i had to share ~

:: 8:04 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets