pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

long week

13 May 2005
This week has been one of the most obnoxious weeks I have ever encountered. When it rains, it pours. I don't even feel up to getting into the logistics of each and every turn of events. Let's just say it's been like an entire week of Friday the 13ths.

Due to all of that, my mindset for writing is currently null and void.

Today was Grandparents/Godparents/Great Friends day at Clare's school. The idea was to have lunch with your Grandchild/Godchild; but prior to lunch you had to go to the classroom for about an hour as the classes had organised special activities for your viewing pleasure. In our class, the children were presenting their book reports dressed as the character from the book and telling about it in first person format. Most of the kids quietly and quickly stumbled through reading their pre-written sentences on the report sheet.

Not Clare.

She sauntered on up to the front of the class, dressed in Cowgirl Gear as Cindy Ellen, the Wild West Cinderella Story. In front of her class, her teacher and numerous sets of grandparents and parents, my child yells really loudly, "YEE HAW! HOWDY THERE! I'M CINDY ELLEN AND I AM GOING TO TELL YOU ABOUT MY ADVENTURE". I about lost it (and so did several other adults) when she told about meeting Joe Prince at the Rodeo who had the "biggest belt buckle in all the Wild West". (Well, it DOES say that in the story!) I heard one of the grandmothers behind me comment, "I bet he does!"

oh dear.

Anyway, her report which was not read from a paper, mind you, got loud applause and cheers from the adults.

Clare can always bring a smile to your face.

Tomorrow is my mother's 55th birthday. My mother does not look 55 by any means. Of course, I don't look nearly 33.(must have good youth genes in my lineage) We will be going out to eat with my parents tomorrow evening once Greg gets off of work. A pleasant diversion from the week's events.

Sunday is my Godson's 3rd birthday. Hard to believe Addison will be 3! Seems like Clare was just 3. They grow up so quickly. I feel awful we can't make it down to his birthday. We were going to be able to make it until we found out Greg is going to be working nights the next month. He will have to sleep on Sunday to work at night, so that cuts out any plans to drive down to Newport News and back, not enough time in the day. But we promised Casey a rain cheque so we will make it down soon.

We are hoping the upcoming week holds much more happiness rather than gloom and despair.


:: 2:39 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets