pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

parish council + first communion + chocolate x new job + haircut = a very tired me

04 May 2006
Being back in the midst of the chocolate eaters of the world is, in one word: Brilliant! Most of you probably recall for Lent I gave up on the delectable goodness that mankind labels chocolate. On Easter day I had a few of those mini foil-wrapped chocolate eggs. I never broke down to have a real candy bar till this week. But this week I had several of those mini eggs at my disposal in my desk drawer at work. I found myself in the middle of multi-tasking numerous times while reaching for chocolate. I really must be mindful of this bad habit.

I was offered a really great position at a local Christian Camp/Conference Centre. I am their registrar/events coordinator/secretary/etc. The hours are quite conducive to our schedulling needs: 8am till 2pm (M-F). The location of camp is approximately twelve miles from our home; it is situated at the base of the mountain along some very windy, tiny roads. If you have been to Ireland, think of curvy one-laned roads where you cannot see around the bend and you suddenly happen upon a caravan or a flock of sheep right in front of you. OK, so there are no caravans of gypsies or flocks of sheep obstructing my path and nearly causing me to wreck. But I tell you, if you aren't paying attention you can veer off into some fields or wrap yourself around a telephone pole. I'd imagine it would make the cows out there very angry.

Speaking of cows, the farms along the way to work are basically milk cow farms. Holsteins are my absolute favourite type of cow. I used to have a large collection of Holstein cow items prior to the Great Fire of 2002. Anyway, they are just beautiful. They are so sleek and shiny looking. Something about the black and white contrast of their spots is very appealing to me. I took a photo of one young cow standing in the stream by the road the other day. One of these days when I renew my account here I will load the picture.

So, the Camp is a nice place to work and I enjoy the folks I work with. They are such a great bunch. People from all denominations can attend summer camp, programmes or retreats. It is run by the United Methodist Church. Right now I am swimming in summer camp registrations but soon enough that will end and other programmes will take their place. It is a very calm and peaceful location.

Other big news: I attended the Discernment at my parish on Sunday and I now hold a seat on the Pastoral Council. I am so excited. Over the years I have served the Catholic church in various ways, such as Parish Life Chair, lector, volunteering with the soup kitchen, etc. But this is a very important role linking the parishioners with the clergy so to speak. It is a three year term and I am very pleased I was given this honour.

Of even greater importance is the fact that Clare's First Holy Communion is one week away! We have about 25 guests attending and after Mass we will be having a party here at our home. I am not sure who is more excited, Clare or us. Everything is set...just have to order the cake and finish making the candle favours we will be giving the guests as a token to remember this special day by. After eight years of patiently waiting, the big day is finally upon us. Clare said this is a major step in the process of her wish to become a nun. I often wonder if she will feel this way when she is 16. She has held true to this desire since she was about 4 ~ and she is pretty devout for a child. I think we might just have a nun in our midst!

Not much else to report really. Staying busy with work and the usual getting everyone where they need to be each day. I have been tired lately, I mean worn-out-zombie-like tired. These nights of us getting up and collecting Greg from work at 2 or 4am is tough. Since the department wants him in at 4pm alot of weekdays now, and Clare's bus doesn't arrive to church until 4.15-ish, and add one vehicle to the equation...well you can figure it out. Lots of running back and forth and interrupted sleep. Why they just won't let him drive a police car home is beyond me. We live approximately nine miles from the town he works in. It would be extremely helpful. Anyhow bottom line is I AM TIRED.

And I got about 2 inches or so chopped off my hair. I am still not sure if it was the right thing to do. It was looking fairly manky in my opinion and in the process of growing it out there were a couple different lengths going on. Seeing how the last hair cut was the week of Christmas, I figured I might as well. Greg likes it and I suppose it is a bit "neater". My hair does grow quickly but now it seems to short to me. It's just a blunt bob type cut that is about even with my chin.

I am rambling now, which is always a sign I should stop before this gets too far fetched.

Happy May!

:: 8:53 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets