pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

Scrambled eggs and Teletubbies

2002-11-02
You know, I must really find something more interesting to do on a Saturday night.But here I am , on Saturday night, watching Teletubbies with Clare and eating scrambled eggs. I think she wanted to watch it for "old times sake" really, seeing that she is five, the Teletubbies are a bit beneath her these days. She proclaimed, "they talk weird, and they said GOODBYE." Like that is something offensive. It must be to her. The last time she really got into Teletubbies she was about two years old and we were living in Ireland, therefore the Teletubbies' narrator had an Irish accent and instead of waving "goodbye" at the end, they all yelled "slan slan", "byebye" in Irish. Or so the kids say....the proper version is "slan abhaile." Anyhow, we found it on PBS Kids at 9pm. You know, on PBS Kids, which we receive via satellite, they run kid's shows 24 hours a day. I often wonder if it there are really children up having an all-nighter with jugs of milk watching episodes of Barney, or is it usually drunken people coming home after a night in the clubs watching it for a laugh. Probably a mixture of both I suppose.

Anyhow, after an exhilerating hour of re-arranging bedroom furniture and doing my "power cleaning", this isn't such a bad thing. I could be out, like most people I know, wasting money in a bar. But, being a responsible parent, I left those days behind years ago. It's kind of sad if I think about it, most people I know ARE doing that very thing. Even married couples I know, even people older than I am, feel the need that the weekend just would not be complete if there was not some amount of drinking going on. Actually I think that is really sad. That kind of college behaviour just doesn't appeal to me. Especially being in our thirties.

At least on Sunday morning, I haven't wasted any money, and don't have a hangover to boot. And in tonight's case, I got a great lesson in sharing from the Teletubbies!

:: 9:18 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets