pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

Holiday lights and a quiet Christmas.....

2002-12-26
Christmas 2002 is officially over. It was pleasant, definitely very quiet. It was great to hear Clare get up this morning, run straight away down the hall to the tree, gasp over the presents, then run back into our room to make us get up and see what Santa left her. I'll tell you, these Santas were tired from arranging all the gifts just so under the tree, then staying up far too late to watch a movie on the television.

No snow today as we were hoping, amazingly NOT a white Christmas in Colorado. Even all the old snow had melted and therefore looking outside was very dull and boring. Not even a snowman to be made either.

Our neighbourhood was eerily quiet today, I had to double check if all the vehicles were indeed parked at each respective house to make sure everyone didn't leave town. No, everyone was home alright, but not a peep out of a soul. Odd. But I am not complaining. It has been quiet around here, although the one thing that has bothered me is the huge dumpster being especially overflowing with rubbish lately. Today made it no better with all the wrapping and boxes (not broken down of course) spilling over. Luckily our friends the rubbish collectors should be making a much welcomed appearance Thursday. I hope.

Another thing: decorations. I don't mind lights and decorations outside at Christmastime, especially for the little ones. We have white icicle lights encircling our house and white lights trimming the windows also. But there are some very scary lighting jobs around here we noticed. The people at the end of the cul-de-sac, the ones who moved in in SEPTEMBER and still have boxes under their carport and inside the house (You can see that thru their windows), put up a combination type lighting display. The lights are strewn around the roof, the first two feet consist of blue single stranded lights, next two feet are weird white icicle lights which fall in bizarre clumps, and then following two feet are double stranded pink lights. This pattern is repeated over the course of the front portion of the roof. The white ones blink which cast lovely shadows on the 3 month old moving boxes and wrappings still contained within. Lovely.

And hey, I cannot forget "the Cave" next door. They have laid dormant for quite awhile save for two trips of bringing over some baked goods earlier in the month. The first treat was banana bread that was ALREADY EATEN OFF, just brilliant. The following week was a plate of what looked to be boxed-mix cookies. Lumpy and a frightening shade of yellow, and I think those were chocolate chips in them. This time the barefoot son in his 5 sizes too small track pants was furiously ringing the doorbell, putting the terriers into an utter frenzy, then he shoved the plate into my face upon me opening my door. (by the way it was about 10F when he bounded over barefoot) This time the goodies were placed on a real plate, something tangible I would be forced to return. I placed the plate and contents on the counter and once Greg got home and spied them, he said "From the Cave? Oh look a REAL plate you must return, they want something!" He promptly put the cookies into the bin (to meet the same fate the half eaten banana bread had a week prior) and I "washed" the plate with lots of Windex and paper towel. (Do you think I would really put my sponge on their plate? Filthy!) After dinner that night I ran over to their house, rang the doorbell (covering my finger with my jacket), threw the empty plate into the unsuspecting face of one of the dwellers there (the son, who was still barefoot on that filthy despicable floor of theirs) and ran as fast as I could into my house before the Cave Leader (mother) could catch me. It was obvious she wanted something (Probably to attempt, again, to make me teach her kids Latin) and I knew it, so I was not going to waste any time getting inside and quick. I then promptly threw all my clothes into a hot wash, took a hot shower myself, and made sure the doors were locked. (on one occasion this summer the Cave mother took the liberty of walking right into my house, therefore I have since learnt my lesson!) So obviously her plot was abandoned to get me to do whatever it was she wanted, and we have not had any more goodies bestowed on us since. Knock on wood. Hopefully they won't be bringing something over here to help ring in the New Year.

OH, and they put up a tacky falling down garland hung from their roof with devil-red plastic lights suspended below....that spans the length of their carport actually, then the falling down strand of wavy white lights is entangled near their patio door entrance. This was put up in alarm, I think, to keep up with us since our lights were in place as the Cave Dad was out there under the strict orders of Hitler, I mean his wife, to get decorations up and in a hurry. All three days prior to the holiday.

Geez.

But hey, as long as they get the point I am not there to cater to them as they would like to think, then the remainder of time we have out here can be a tiny bit more pleasant. That means definitely no more grilling hotdogs for them just because our grill is out and being used for our own dinner, and yes that HAS indeed happened, on more than one occasion, thank you. That alone proves they are FREAKS.

Fast forwarding back to today. Again, a quiet Christmas, I really wish I could have seen everyone to really truly enjoy this day. My parents, Casey & family, Anna and Clan, Colm, Stephanie, Jenny, John, Elizabeth.....sure wish I could have seen each of you to make my holiday a bit more complete. Maybe next year......

Till then let's all hope 2003 is a whole lot better than this year was....with no broken arms and no house fires for any of us!!!

Now to all, a good night....

:: 1:13 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets