pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

departing colorado

09 July 2003
The moment we have been patiently awaiting has now arrived. In approximately two short hours the movers will be parking outside (much the the aggravation of most of our neighbours, I'm sure) to pack up our belongings, place them on the truck and we will have closed the chapter on living in Colorado. You have no idea how happy we are! And tired. The past week alone, thus far, has been hectic, exciting, tiring and frantic all at the same time.

Late nights getting things done around the house and early risings have not helped in matters.

I'm going to miss the horses we visit at the Academy Stables. And the sunsets out here are some of the prettiest I have encountered. Garden of the Gods is stunning no matter what time of year you drive or walk through. But I tell you, I am not going to miss the blistering cold and snow, the altitude (my asthma should now be fairly happy), being far away from family and friends and this God awful heat that has been bestowed upon us while not having air conditioning. Yesterday the thermostat in the living room read 99F. By early evening it was certainly cooler outside than it was in our house. Cursed Academy and their non-air conditioned houses. Yes, you do need AC in Colorado in the summer. It's true!

By last night I was outside fighting with my plants to get them dug up and transplanted into the Gomez's garden. There are too many to take with me (I am already carrying my potted plants/herbs) so the spearmint, lemon balm, basil and vincas had to go. If I left them behind, within one day of our absence the women scavengers (AKA mean nasty neighbours) would have everything dug up and put into their gardens. I refuse to let that happen. Mainly because I don't like them. Secondly, they have been rude and horrible to us. So why should they divulge in my plants I worked so hard on? This is not a joke, I have seen about four houses vacated in the last year and the ones in particular swooped down upon those gardens and took what they wanted.

Anyhow, I am straying off topic here. Sort of.

After the movers get all of our items packed and taken away we get to clean the basement and do some spot cleaning in the house, final inspection is tomorrow. Not looking forward to that. The inspector woman seemed a bit bitter with us last week during pre-inspection since she could not find any dirt or grime to complain about.

At least the next two nights we shall be spending it in an air conditioned hotel. Even the doggies and hamster should be happy about that fact!

And Friday...around noon we will be headed back East. If anyone happens to be on interstates 70 or 64 east, and you see a very happy carload of people and pets in a heavily laden Jeep Cherokee, that would be us!

Until next time, which will be next week probably, I'm off for some caffeine!

:: 7:50 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets