pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

officially "homeless"....for now

15 July 2003
So here we are in Virginia, having a short break before heading on to Delaware for "the big move". We actually will enjoy nearly three weeks to visit and have a nice little holiday before needing to get up north to await the reunion of us and our belongings. I just hope the truck makes it safely to the East coast. Greg told me of some horror story on the drive out here which involved a military family's items being blown up in a moving truck at a weigh-in station due to some nitrogen explosion or something. Lovely.

We arrived here at my parent's house around 10.30pm Saturday evening. It was a pleasant drive. We left Colorado around noonish Friday. Last week was definitely the Week of Hell. Wednesday was quite intense what with the movers at the house all day, and then I spent that evening and Thursday worried about the house inspection. I am a self-proclaimed clean freak (as those of you who know me tend to agree) and whatnot, but the thought of people giving the house the "white glove treatment" was certainly unnerving. And of course that never even happened as Miss House Inspector, AKA Dragon Lady, was in such the rush to get home she barely even eyed the house. Oh well. At least we knew it was spotless.

We haven't even seen anyone yet upon returning to Virginia. Greg and I took Clare out yesterday for some new trainers and a haircut. Our friends Sean and Holly are going to come up Saturday it seems (they don't live far from here) and I know by next week we will be able to see Anna and Jim and bombard her with all kinds of things for her 40th birthday. We obviously weren't here for the 1st of July, so have to make up for what we missed!

Other than that we are just taking it slow and enjoying the air conditioning and the silence. I think we plan to go up to Dover tomorrow actually to sign off on housing, that way it's all taken care of and we won't need to worry about such things on the 31st. Still need to figure out which B&B to make reservations at. Better get it done, Greg's birthday will be here before we know it!

A lackluster entry I admit, but my brain is definitely on holiday. I am certainly enjoying my sabbatical from doctor's visits and blood withdrawals. I need to get some more reading material, Harry Potter didn't make it through Kansas and now I must wait too long till the 6th one comes out.....

:: 10:59 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets