pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

are we unpacked yet???

21 August 2003
Imagine this, I am updating my site. It's been a month, hasn't it? Longer? Most likely.

This isn't going to be very imaginative or exciting mind you, I am tired. And I am really sick of looking at cardboard boxes.

After our move from the Great Wild West we had a bit of time in Virginia to re-group before heading out to our fate in wacky Delaware. This is definitely a far cry from any city-type life I have ever experienced. Let's just say it's a bit on the rural side.

I think I might be having Starbuck's withdrawals.

It's been a week and a half since our arrival and in that amount of time I managed to get the house unpacked (bar about 12 or so cartons full of books which are awaiting our purchse of new bookshelves), we got Clare registered in Catholic School, I have already re-arranged furniture in each room at LEAST one more time (surprise, surprise) and I managed to do this (and more) with a viral infection and bronchitis. What fun! Yep, I began feeling ill in Virginia and the drive up to Delaware was none too pleasant as I felt like I had been run over by a train. I finally saw a doctor on Monday last who diagnosed me and gave me a huge bottle of steroids and super strong anti-biotics. I lost my voice, then re-gained my voice. I have been walking around like a zombie furiously trying to accomplish all of my tasks to make things seem more settled. What a disaster.

There is ONE oncologist here in town. And they are not a "full service" oncology clinic. So I get to see the doctor on the 10th of September and they order my weekly injections, which I collect and inject myself. My weekly counts must be done at the Base clinic. And I have no earthly idea when I will be seeing the researchers at Walter Reed for my immune disease. Since I've been off my injections for what, 8 weeks now, my energy level is nil. I have been moving about purely by a miracle I think. By November I am hoping to be at least a tad more like my former self. Ehm, energy-wise like.

Hmm, what else...our house is ok. At least we have a decent sized kitchen and a dining room too. Our yard is big but very un-festive at the moment, so I am hoping to get some flower beds dug and plants put in this weekend. And stain some wall shelves and my pie safe. We had a stroke of luck this evening during the great adventure to buy a dining room table...found one right away and got to load it all up in the Jeep and bring it home. It is a lovely shade of hunter green with pine accents, oval shaped, with green tiles on top. Very cool. Found a perfect new vacuum at Sears and maybe tomorrow I can try it out. I love cannister vacs! All that's left is the computer armoir and the lawn mower, but we picked those out already so not a big issue. Just need to locate some nice bookshelves and the rest will be quite easy...painting (every room needs some colour!), new curtains for the bedroom, gardening...at least it seems a bit more home-like now. Especially with the huge tri-colour hanging at our front door.

Clare is all set for school right down to her uniforms. She is really excited and starts next week. I already plan to be on the PTO Chair Board..I really feel "parenty" now. It seems like a great school and a wonderful parish. I am quite looking forward to everything. Now the great hunt for clear contact paper and exact sized brass fasteners ensues...yes those items are on her "things to get for school" list.

Maybe next week, just maybe, I will get a chance to sit down and have a bit of a rest. Somehow, I seriously doubt it!

*post notes: Congrats to Anna who has been named Curator of the U.S.S. Monitor Centre at the Mariners'. I am thoroughly thrilled (and envious)!!

*Hey John, you are turning 31 tomorrow, so HAPPY 31st BIRTHDAY! Welcome to the over-30 club!

*Happy (belated) 30th birthdays to Breea and Aimee. Ha, you're both old like me now.

*Pictures to follow when I get a chance....

:: 3:27 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets