pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

spiders, not spider babies

07 January 2004
Last night I was in the bathroom, brushing my teeth and doing my usual thing while brushing my teeth: re-adjusting towels, moving the toothbrush holder which was slightly awry, you know, general obsessive compulsive things to "neaten" up the bathroom which was already clean. Anyway, I happened to look down by the bin and on the dark blue rug, nearly camouflaged, was something along the lines of this:

I am not afraid of spiders. Greg is terrified of them. I am the official spider exterminator of the house, should any show up. (of course as most of you know, I hate crickets but that is another story) But I got to thinking, what if I had been getting out of the shower and actually STEPPED on such a thing? I don't normally wear my contacts in the shower, nor my glasses ~for obvious reasons~ so the chances I would see a spider hiding amongst the fibers of the bathroom rug would be pretty slim. Pretty much nil, actually. I can't seem to get the image out of my mind. I stepped on a slug once, years ago, it had meandered into our house and was nonchalantly hanging out by our back door. And that was quite an ordeal in itself.

I think from now on I will be wearing my contacts in the shower.

I gave myself the heebie jeebies looking through insect photos on the internet to find a close resemblence to what was found in our bathroom. So now I have to leave you with something nicer in your heads, and mine. How about....

Aoife with some Colorado snow in the background.

Now that's a nice happy image.

*post note, you'd have to have watched Father Ted to get the "spider baby" reference.....

:: 11:42 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets