pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

some "interesting" dinner conversations

22 February 2004
Today was such a discombobulated day. It started with Clare and both doggies climbing all over us in bed this morning. Then Clare spent the better part of the day addictively playing the Haunted House Scavenger Hunt game off of the Garfield.com site. She co-erced me into playing both Part One and Part Two with her, at which we did complete both. Then she had to play again. We finally tore her away this evening to go grab some dinner, noone felt much like cooking. So we went to La Tolteca, a Mexican Restaurant. We have eaten at this one a few times. Anyhow, at the table that was practically connected to ours, there sat three young people. It seemed the girl was there with her boyfriend and the girl's brother was seated across from them. You could tell they were exceptionally young, the things they chatted about, how loud they were, etc. Well the younger brother kept mentioning all kinds of strange things, such as :

"Hey dude, have you ever made macaroni and cheese? But, like, macaroni and cheese with hot dogs, but like hot dogs cooked in the same pan as the macaroni and cheese? Like dude, it's something you gotta try."

"Did you see the Japanese guy on ESPN who won the hot dog eating championship? He ate like, 58 hot dogs in like 15 minutes. And like, ESPN followed him around all day to film what he ate before the contest. And like, ESPN followed him around all day to film what he ate before the contest. And like, ESPN followed him around all day to film what he ate before the contest. Dude, are you listening to me?"

"I hate refried beans. I didn't know this had refried beans on it. (*note*: that's why you need to look at the glossary in the menu mr. man, geez) Like refried beans are just when they have to cook the beans twice cos they screwed it up in the first place!"

You get the gist.

We kind of tuned them out, but the following comment is when both Greg and I honed in directly to what annoying kid-brother was saying.

"Dude, I HATE HATE HATE Museums. Man, they SO suck. I just hate them. They are like, dude, like who goes there but these kids on field trips and you learn nothing and they are so boring. Museums SUCK. They are so stupid. Just stupid. And like who would want to work at a Museum? I hate Museums!!"

In all of my Museum career, I had never heard anyone say they hated museums. Sure, you get the bored school kids who have been up all night for about five nights straight since they are on these week-long cross country field trips (IE: away from parents so taking advantage of it...in particular the ones coming from CA..no offense but those kids are always the most "bored"). However I have noticed they always perk up if you present the information in a non-textbook type format. Anyhow, I was really aggravated by what he said. Greg kept whispering, "Don't say anything!!". Now come on, you know I'm not going to let that slide. In my old age, I'll tell most people what I think in public.

So they were ready to go the same time we were. As I got Clare in her coat and mittens, they were standing there and I said to Mr. Museum Hater, "Excuse me young man, can you please tell me why you hate museums? I'm just curious since I work in Museums." You couldn't imagine someone's face turn more red. It was brilliant. He kind of stammered and finally came out with, "Well, uh, yeah, they aren't that bad." I told him it was a shame he thought they were so boring and dreadful. He said he just wasn't into the whole "brainy" thing since he was more into sports. Oh that is just classic. I knew he was fairly young, but said anyhow, "What is your major then?" He replied, "I am only 16, I'm just a junior in high school." HA!!! Museum Hater was still clearly embarassed. Greg is just used to me saying things like this to strangers at this point.

He really did qualify as a "young man", as I called him. He is 16, and I am nearly 32. He is literally half my age. Perhaps next time he will think twice about voicing his immature comments so loudly in public.

Hmm, I doubt it.

:: 11:04 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets