pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

notes from the hermit

25 February 2004
Thank you Miss Mary Kay Lady, and you know who you are; you waltzed in late to meet your friends Monday morning while my husband and I were having a nice quiet breakfast together. You so kindly~ and loudly~ had a grand royal entrance, made rude comments to the waitress, then moved your friend's coats out of the way to make room for yourself and proceeded to literally put the coats in my lap (since I was sitting on the same side of the booth- bench as some of your cohorts).

Do I look like a coat rack?

Your make-up looked as though you had plastered it on with a putty knife. And your forty shades of fuschia you had so interestingly collaborated into your outift was just oh-so-divine. I think at age, what, 65, you know how to act in public, don't you? Apparently not.

All Mary Kay people are the same, no matter where you live. I've always had run-ins with them. And according to others I have spoken to, I am not the only one.

So yeah, that's like two weird restaurant incidences in two consecutive days. I will spare everyone the details of the woman who talked to me through the bathroom stall in Safeway while Greg was ordering our coffee at the Starbuck's counter. I don't think you all need to hear about her 14 pound fibroid, or her 15 blood transfusions, or her numerous other illnesses.

Needless to say I am remaining a hermit for the rest of the week.

I was bold and decided to go to an Episcopal Mass for Ash Wednesday Services today, while Clare was in school and Greg was in work. I actually enjoyed it. It was slightly different, and the whole dipping the Host into the wine chalice got me a wee bit confused, but I figured it out in time. It at least saved me having to deal with the uppity snooty folk at the Catholic church.

Clare had her school Mass this morning and took her ashes with no worries. Last year she just wasn't feeling the Lenten spirit apparently, and therefore staunchly refused. I was pleased she did so well this time around. Go Clare!

I hear the weather is going to be in the sixties this weekend. Too bad Greg will be working. I'm telling you, we need some nice warm weather. This cold is really wearing thin on me. My favourite thing this winter has been hearing the meteorologists on the Weather Channel describe the freezing temps as "Bone Jarringly Cold". Indeed, an interesting expression. Regardless, I want some "Bone Boiling Hot". I am ready for some gardening and outdoor activities, walks with the doggies, museum visits.....so, hurry up Spring!

:: 10:29 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets