pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

ban the hair cuttery!!

12 March 2004
This is a complaint letter I wrote to the Corporate office of the Hair Cuttery. All I wanted was a hair trim and that was it. What is wrong with people? Have their people skills been thrown out the window? If I ever acted in this manner, say to a museum visitor, I would be so fired. I can see it now, "Sorry, I gotta fight traffic so I don't feel like doing a tour of Mr. Jefferson's home at this time. Come back tomrrow."

I am sure that would fly real well.

I'm telling you, in the last couple years after turning thirty, I don't put up with anything. As my mother would say, "This is UNACCEPTABLE!"

To Whom This May Concern,

Last Saturday, 6. March 2004, my family and I were down in Rehoboth Beach DE. We had dinner and I had planned on getting my hair trimmed at the Hair Cuttery on Lighthouse Plaza. (11 Lighthouse Plaza, Rehoboth, DE 19971)

After dinner we walked over to the Hair Cuttery and I was welcomed by a gentleman who told me it would be just a short wait. It was 6.15pm. I told him thank you and as we took a seat, a female employee came up to the front desk and asked what I wanted. I told her I was there for a hair trim. She informed me there were too many people ahead of me and I would need to come back the following day. There appeared to be three employees there at the time. The other female employee had a woman in her chair, and the friendly gentleman had a customer he had just brought back. The only other person in the waiting area besides my family was a gentleman waiting on his wife. He clearly was not waiting for a haircut, he was completely bald.

The rude female employee told me again I would have to come back the following day as they would not be doing any more haircuts that night since they closed at 7pm. It was 6.15pm, as I stated previously, and I was not there for a perm or a hair colour or anything time consuming. I was there for a simple quick trim.

The employee would not give me her name, nor did she wear a name badge. Her attitutde was simply deplorable and I was shocked at being treated in this manner. I have shown up to Hair Cuttery shops in the past with less than thirty minutes to spare before closing and was always graciously taken in.

As my understanding goes, any employee who is involved with the public is there to serve the public. Not shoo prospective customers off because the employee does not feel like doing exactly what they get paid to do. It was clear she did not feel like doing any other haircuts. If the time I arrived, 45 minutes prior to closing had been an issue, then why did the other employee tell me to have a seat and it would just be a short wait??

I have been a customer of the Hair Cuttery for years, since I was a teenager. My family and friends, both local and extended, all use the Hair Cuttery for various services. After my experience last weekend, I will not be utilizing the Hair Cuttery again. I will be sure to notify my family and friends of the experience. I have many friends and family who will no longer want to frequent your company if this is the standard way your employees treat their valued customers.

I was not only shocked, but also very disappointed. I know the Hair Cuttery has a customer friendly reputation with hard work ethics, however after my experience, I am in doubt.

I wanted you to be aware that you have lost many clients due to this incident. I hope the employee in question had a lovely Saturday night since she was so clearly in a hurry to leave, thus neglecting her work ethics and her customer's needs.

Thank you for your time.

AMH

:: 4:28 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets