pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

roller skating still rules!

17 May 2004
So last week's skating party was such a hit with Clare, and Greg I must add, that I think the newly remodelled skating rink will find a regular spot in our family fun-things-to-do-out-in-the-middle-of-nowhere list.

I was the skating queen from the age of seven up until about age fourteen, after which the local rink was becoming overrun with the "rough" kids who thought it was a fun place to hang out and watch fights. Anyhow, I practically lived in my skates....I remember many a time just needing to come inside for a drink or what have you and my mother fussing about taking the skates off while in the house. I would always fuss back about it being too much of a pain to unlace them and put them back on just for a mere minute of being indoors. And then would proceed to skate across the carpeting to get whatever I needed in the house. I was so bad. In this house I wouldn't care too much about Clare having skates on, we have that awful universal school type of flooring, which would actually be perfect to skate across. I am the type of mother that would be totally sympathetic about the need to not take skates off inside the house when needing to come in for some "urgent" situation.

Clare and Greg were so funny when they first put their skates on. They did great on the carpeting, but once they hit the wood floor of that rink it became a circus. It was amusing but I made quick work of teaching them the basics to skating. They got the hang of it and by the end of the evening they were having so much fun, neither wanted to come home.

Daddy and Clare were some skating fools last week...

The weekend was spent indoors. Greg had to work and I had the brilliant idea of Clare and I going to the annual Herb Festival at the local Agricultural Museum. They were having booths of herbs to be sold, as well as lectures, etc. But Clare woke up to a high temperature Saturday morning so we quickly scratched that idea. Taking her out in the hot humid weather would only make her worse and she would have no fun. By Sunday the fever had passed onto me so we definitely stayed home. At least I had some time to work on the barstools. My mother gave us a pair of wooden barstools last year she no longer wanted and me being the girl I am and not liking things to be "plain", took it upon myself to paint them. I have the first one nearly complete, and I must say it is quite, ehm, colourful. And what did I paint on the seat? None other than a Jack Russell. Aoife to be exact. In a kind of Andy-Warhol-Pop-Artesque type of way. Yes, colourful indeed.

A few things to note here: Addison, my Godson, turned two Saturday. We will get to see him next time we are down that way. He sure is growing up fast, and will soon be joined by a baby sister, Maia Grace. Note to Maia: you better come out in June. We need another June birthday to add to the mix! Her Mommy, Casey, said she is VERY active and enjoys moving and kicking at all hours, thus making her "spirited". Yep, she is a little Cancer the Crab to the tee!

And Anna, Clare's Godmummy, officially begins her position today as Curator of the USS Monitor Center at the Mariners'. From one Curator to another, Welcome to the World of Museum Exhibits! (although she has spent the past several months as acting Curator, so has definitely been inducted to all the fun and joys of Curating!)

Off to do my weekly bleaching of household things....cupboards, counters, bathroom, baseboards, floors, doggies...

...no not doggies, just checking to see if anyone was paying attention...


Clare got the hang of skating quickly and here we are having some fun~

:: 10:06 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets