pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

evil headache bombardment

11 March 2005
I have a headache.

One of those annoying headaches, brought on most likely from stress, that will not disappear no matter what you try to do. I have a feeling it is going to stick around all day long and into tomorrow.

Some of my exhibitors cancelled on me for tomorrow's event. The first domino fell on Tuesday night. I read my work email and there was a very harsh, short, nasty, cancellation email (not even signed!) from a local vineyard (KLUGE) who, by the way, had confirmed they were going to take part in this event LAST OCTOBER. The crux of it was they decided to participate at an International Wine Event instead. They were going to do five exhibits, FIVE!!, for us...no, not on wine or wine making~ this is a kid's event, folks~ but on farm safety, food demos, sorghum making and so on and so forth. Basically they skipped out on the little people (my event) in favour of something that was huge, glamourous, would give them lots of attention and where they would make money. I wrote this woman a very firm email expressing my disappointment and saying exactly how larger companies always bail out of menial events in favour of larger, more commercial extravaganzas. I never got a reply. My boss informed me I should not say anything "bad" about them (if anyone should ask where they are at our event, seeing how their name is splayed across flyers, newspaper ads, websites, the works) because they are a "big name" in this town. So what. They are also rude. They have bailed out on alot of small events and have thus created their own bad reputation without my help or input at all, thank you very much. Although I now ban that winery (KLUGE) even more than before, and will never work with them again in the future. Oh, and let it be known that I did NOT invite these people to take place at my event. It was set up with the Public Television Station who is our partner in this commnity event.

The worst of it was the fact this woman lied and said she left several messages to say they were not coming. No they didn't. The upstairs people at my work are like hawks watching the phones and voicemail, any messages get sent on to the appropriate persons right away. On top of that, while I was out sick and working from home, I obsessively checked the work voicemail dozens of times a day just in case an exhibitor needed to get me.

The dominoes were falling in rapid succession by yesterday.... the US Dept. of Agriculture - Pest and Insect Division- bailed on me, but I received a gracious and apologetic email. Them, I could understand. Their team has to rush down to Florida for some sort of Pest issue. A local Park Ranger who a Museum Volunteer knows and recommended also bailed on me. I wasn't too concerned on that one, since we had been playing phone tag for about two weeks and I already have a Historical Interpreter coming to talk about historical farming methods, anyway.

I think the thoughts of my well-oiled event now unravelling before my eyes is the cause of this evil headache.

Now we have snow to contend with in the morning. They claim *only flurries* beginning at 6am and waning by 8am, but who knows. With my luck it is going to turn into an all out blizzard, and then my many months of hard work will be reduced to smoldering cinders within an instant.

It seems also, that everyone around me is reporting happy news and for some reason I am being disgruntled. I have about resigned myself to the fact I am never going to make more than $11 an hour, we are never going to buy a house or a second vehicle, and I am going to have to send my child to public school since I cannot catch up with all this insane tuition for parochial school~ thanks a whole lot to those over-priced and pompous idiots for not giving us financial aid for this year. Obviously the point of sending your child to that school is NOT for the religious aspects, no, but for making yourself look good to your neighbours and colleagues. Defeats the purpose, indeed.

:: 11:27 a.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets