pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

day off

28 March 2005
I stayed home today. I had to weigh my options on the job front, and since I am technically PT currently, I can't work five days anymore.

I have decided that Wednesday will be my last day. I have never walked out of a place without giving proper notice, but you know what folks, I don't feel any guilt associated this time around. I have not been treated as I deserve, nor has anyone else working there. It is time to flee the opressive hand and let the weight be lifted or hang around and continue the cycle of mental anguish.

I will leave a letter for the Director tomorrow. She will be out of the office but on Wednesday she can read it. I have a couple other employment options simmering in the background. I would rather spend my hours with good people and be appreciated for my work than to be overworked, underpaid and talked down to. It was harder to think about leaving before since it was full time and a bit higher wage. But now being reduced to part time and lower wage, why bother. I have struggled with this decision for quite some time. Sometimes you just have to let go and know that something better lies waiting for you.

Easter was fairly laid-back. Mass as usual, and we were lucky enough to get a front row space right out front. Unheard of for Sunday Mass. Divine intervention, perhaps? One will never knnow. After Mass we went to my parent's and had a nice Easter dinner with them. Clare got a larger assortments of chocolates this year. But we dole them out, it is not as though she is allowed to eat them whenever she wishes. She chose as a present (besides her stuffed bunny and stickers and books) this Playmobil Police Patrol Boat.

Since Greg had been sharing details of his drug classes last week, I overheard them playing with the Police Patrol Boat on Friday night (We let her have it early). Clare said, "We have to apprehend the criminal since he had a Meth lab and Meth on him, so handcuff him!" She is something else. God knows what she will say once her dad comes home with actual arrestment stories. I envision her attracting a large gathering out on the playground at school.

This is day five of the rain. Alot of people complain about it, but I am one of the few who actually welcomes rain. In Ireland I did not welcome the lashing rain, standing outside with a small child awaiting the bus to arrive while getting pelted was not exactly my idea of fun times. But here in the States, I am lucky enough to jump in my Jeep and drive to where I need to get to~ regardless of sunny skies, wind, rain or snow.

Of course, at this point, it does look as though we should have plans for an Ark in the works.

:: 4:14 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets