pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

camper van & cracker

30 March 2005
Last night Greg and I went out. By ourselves. That's a rare thing in these parts. Clare is enjoying some Spring Break time with her grandparents, so it was just us on our own.

A few weeks back I had gotten two tickets to see Cracker/Camper Van Beethoven at a local brewery/restaurant/music hall. Just an acoustic set featuring David Lowery and Johnny Hickman. Upon arrival, we were happily surprised to see signs posted outside stating the performers requested it be a non-smoking show. Brilliant! We were even more surprised, upon entering the music hall, to find that it was a seated event. That is a great thing for us older folks who can't bear to stand through an opening act as well as the main performers. We got a front row view.

I first saw Camper Van Beethoven in 1987. I was 15. It was a small venue, but packed, and of course, we stood up the entire time. When you are that young you can stand that long AND have enough energy to dance. I have watched along the years as Camper has evolved into Cracker. Cracker is notorious for kitschy (often humourous) but always clever lyrics. This particular show yielded a special treat as we got to hear songs from both bands. And with the performers not even five feet away.

I took a couple photos at the end, but it seems the ones of David didn't come out as well; must have been the angle.




However, Johnny Hickman looks as amazing in this photo as he did onstage.



When it was all said and done, we realised it was 1 a.m. Let's just say I don't know how we have made it through the day. Greg is a wee bit younger, so has probably managed somewhat better than I have.

This morning, I had to race Greg up to the Academy, zip home and get myself ready for work. It took well over an hour just to get home in order to get ready for work, since the interstate was cut down to one lane and there was an accident, to boot. I stayed in hell, I mean work, till 1pm, at which time I cleared my desk and bulletin board, ensured all my emails were cleared out of folders, and the freshly printed resignation letter was signed. Placed the keys and business credit card into an envelope, and all items subsequently placed into the correct mailboxes to find in due time. No, I didn't talk to my boss directly about quitting. We had conversations along those lines in recent weeks, but in the end, I feel this was the best way to leave things. I was encouraged by my co-workers that I was doing the right thing and assured I would be missed. I know a few of them are going to follow suite. Fair enough, noone deserves to stay in such a miserable environment.

So basically I just walked out of the good old VDM without saying a word to anyone other than two of my co-workers.

I begin helping out around the local winery Monday. Less stress indeed.

Back to the fact that we got very little sleep last night (but it was worth it), I have kept myself busy with various household tasks this afternoon. Cleaning the bathroom, vaccuming, dusting....even took the shop-vac outside and cleaned out the Jeep. Yep, I am home all alone and what do I do? I clean. Most normal people would take a nap or something along those lines.

What else would you expect from me?!

LISTENING TO:: Hollywood Cemetary, Cracker

THINKING:: Better get some foodage of some sort before I trek out to collect my husband...

:: 7:08 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets