pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

all-sorts

27 February 2006
Here I said I was going to try and update more frequently and I have let this go for nearly a month. Shame on me. I have thought of plenty of things to write about, but finding the time is quite another situation.

We had a good wind-down from the Winter Olympics, although I was sad to see them end. Winter Olympics, for us, are far more exciting than it�s Summer counterpart. It seems as though it was just last week when Clare and I were tackling the Great Colorado Unpacking Adventure while settling into our new house in the wilderness of the West while glued to the 2002 Winter Games. Time does fly. At any rate, since we are not avid TV watchers, I am disappointed that all that remains on prime-time now is the same old rubbish that existed pre-Olympics. Sigh.

I enjoyed the hype you get while watching your favourite athlete(s) competing. Let�s just say Apolo got a lot of cheering in these parts, as did the Finnish hockey team. Greg was upset they lost to their rivals, Sweden, and I was upset Russia didn�t even medal. I think the Vancouver games are going to warrant a visit from us. Clare really wants to go, and at that point she will be 12 (can you believe it??), so at a good age for such events.

Our weather has been completely insane. Warmish to cold�back to warm� then freezing. The winds on this side of the mountain are wicked and not in a good way, mind you. It�s a wonder we haven�t all been ill. I hear the temps are to rise to around 60-ish for Ash Wednesday, which will be a lovely change to what we are currently experiencing. Especially since we have the day off of work.

Clare is loving the new school. I could write a novel on that alone. It is good to see a parochial school focusing on RELIGION. What a refreshing difference this school is. I like the smaller classroom size (there are 8 girls and 2 boys) and everything seems to be as it should there. We are pleased Clare is right where she belongs.

Work is well, for us both, and that is also a good thing.

I pointed out to Greg this morning that four years ago today we were about to experience the Great House Fire of 2002. Again, seems like it was last week ~ yet it seems like it was an eternity ago.

Last but not least, I have two special birthday wishes. Today is my dear friend Donald�s birthday. Unfortunately~ as most of you who know me, know~ he passed away in 2002. But I still want to offer birthday wishes to him.

And of course, tomorrow is Elizabeth�s birthday who will be 27! I could not let that special wish slip by. She is such an exceptional friend and mommy to my Godson, Seth. Happy 27th Elizabeth!!!

:: 2:51 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets