pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

biscotti making rock-star

24 June 2006
This has been the week of chocolate biscotti. With almonds. I am about to embark on yet another batch in approximately thirty minutes.

We are having a reception after our 5pm Mass this evening in honour of our newly ordained priest who has come to join the parish staff. They asked for folks to bring finger foods. I volunteered myself for biscotti and cucumber with cream cheese mini-sandwiches.

The problem with the biscotti is that it was so good, we found ourselves snacking on it throughout the week. I am really unsure as to how much to bake in the first place. I am guesstimating about what, 200 people come to 5pm Mass? Each batch of biscotti makes about 3-4 dozen. I decided to spread the baking over the course of the week. But as mentioned, the supply has dwindled as we have eaten it, given it to neighbours, etc.

I have a few batches to make between now (1pm) and 4pm. And get those sandwiches prepared.

Last night turned out to be pretty fun. We drove down to our fair capital city and met up with Andrew & Elizabeth and my Godson Seth, my dear friend Sean, and Beth. Although I was highly disappointed that the Irish restaurant in question no longer has blackened chicken on the menu, I had a nice steak. I am not a big meat eater, but occasionally will have a steak.

Good times.

Today the crew consisting of Elizabeth, Andrew & Seth are heading up our way. So I have to get a move-on if I want to get some of this baking out of the way before they arrive.

Cheers!

:: 12:50 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets