pelican reasoning
welcome to ande's wee corner of the web

All Hallows Eve

30 October 2006
Yet again, I have let many weeks slip past while neglecting to add any posts here. It's strange because we get incredibly busy and I have things to write about, but when it is time to sit down and compose I find I have nothing to say after all. Maybe I am just getting older and my mind is being pulled into numerous directions. The older I get, the harder I find it to focus at times.

Halloween is one of my favourite times of the year and here I have very half-heartedly decorated. That's a first for me. I had good intentions--bought new strings of purple and orange lights, purchased new spider webs...not quite sure what's going on but I never bothered to put it all out. I did sit some Halloween knick-knacks around our home here and there, but the outside just has minimal decoration. As most of you know already, Clare is going to be a nun this year for Halloween. I guess after three years of being Pirate Grace O'Malley, it was time for a change. Of course, the nun habit is still in the works--nearly complete. We found some spectacular material; hefty and weighted, not thin. I even splurged on a new sewing machine, it was time. I spent some time researching the mysterious bits and pieces of the Poor Clare habit and between the googling and receiving some very good advice/descriptions from Mother Clare via email over at the Monastery, I think our Clare will be in good shape by tomorrow night. It brought back many memories of sewing 18th and 19th century clothing minus patterns. I just need to add in a hem on the bottom and seam the white under veil to the outer veil....and that's that!

I do enjoy giving out sweets to trick-or-treaters, but this year I am going to accompany child & husband on their trick-or-treating outing. We don't know tons of folks around here, so we will go visit two neighbours (one is a lovely girl in her twenties with a Jack Russell named Darby, the other are an older couple who were previous neigbours with Clare's Godfather and his family in Williamsburg). We also will go to our priests' rectory since Clare is anxious to show them her outfit. They already call her "Sister Clare", so she will really fit the description tomorrow.

Wednesday is, of course, All Saint's Day and the students can dress as their favourite Saint. Clare will go, naturally, as Saint Clare. What else!?

Now with winter approaching, rather quickly, my least favourite time of the calendar is nigh: January and February. Those two months always seem to drag by, as endless as the grey, cold skies that loom overhead. I don't mind cold or snow, but those months just seem like it takes an eternity to pass. Whenever we change the time back and the nights descend upon us quicker, my internal clock gets really confused, which is never incredibly helpful.

Blah.

This upcoming weekend will be nice though, Greg is off work and the only pressing thing on my agenda will be to coordinate a wedding rehearsal Friday night and the actual wedding on Saturday evening. This wedding will not be a full Mass, so it will be short and sweet.

I have felt the need to do something drastic, like dye my hair aqua or something along those lines. I was at the store earlier today examining hair colour and we did agree to a kind of dark cherry red. My hair never turns out the same colour as the package predicts, so this should be interesting.

Not really much else to report at the moment, I have some more sewing to do this evening ~ so off I go. Happy Hallows Eve to One and All!

:: 5:15 p.m. ::
:: comment ::
before these :: crowded streets